Socially Awkward

large(source)

Hey my loves!

Today I have something a little bit different for you, something more personal that I wanted to share with you all for a longer time now, but never really did it. I will talk about social awkwardness. So please, if you have any experience with being social awkward let’s talk about it and exchange experiences.

A socially awkward person is someone who either doesn’t know how to carry a conversation ahead or is too hesitant in initiating one. By the way, being socially awkward differs from person to person and in my case, I’m definitely not talking about social anxiety, which is much more serious.

Some people understand it but a lot of people just don’t or don’t care to understand (at least in my own personal experience). I’ve never really found my place anywhere from high school to even in online groups. I’ve always felt like I was just there and not important in any way. Of course, it got better in some points, when I got  a little bit older, but in some not really. Sure, I had two or three good friends. But I only keep in contact sparsely with one since high school and those teen years that I wouldn’t necessarily want to experience again.

The Internet is a helpful tool for shy persons who wish to communicate more but find it difficult to do so in face-to-face situations. And blogging, I’m sure many of you will agree with me, is a wonderful means for us bloggers to express ourselves in a way in which we can’t always do in the offline world. However, that doesn’t necessarily mean that all our insecurities are wiped away as soon as we turn into our blogging persona.

I’m amazed at how many friendships other bloggers can maintain. It seems like they have the ability of making friends at the flip of a switch. I still feel awkward when I want to leave a comment on a blog, whether it’s one I read regularly or a new one I’ve stumbled upon. I wish I could easily write a nice, interesting comment that catches the blogger’s attention but the truth is that it takes some extra minutes of composing and checking before I hit ‘send’ and the final comment always sounds boring (and rambling) to me.

Despite my insecurities, I am overall happy with the blog I’m building and that will eventually make me more confident when interacting with others.  Especially because you all support me so much! You can’t believe how amazing that feels. And after all, I am ready to embrace my blogger persona as much as my whole self, and why not, I want to embrace my awkwardness too because it’s part of who I am. And the main reason I wanted to share this is because I want you to know that you’re not alone.

That was it for today! I really hope you enjoy! Let me know in the comment if you have any questions or you want to share some experiences. I would love to read them! 🙂

Happy International Women’s Day!

Have a nice day❤

Love, Dajana.

Let’s connect!

BLOGLOVIN    •    INSTAGRAM    •    FACEBOOK    •    TWITTER    •    YOUTUBE

POSTS YOU MIGHT ALSO LIKE:

img_1783  img_1821  img_1843x

28 thoughts on “Socially Awkward

  1. blossombahar says:

    I relate so much to this post. I feel like in the short amount of time that I have been blogging it has helped me communicate with so many people and be who I am without being scared. Great post! Loved it! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. hellosamanthadear says:

    What a great post! I love the way you worded it and I can totally relate. I’ve always been awkward since I was a kid, and still am today, but the difference now is I try to embrace it rather than try to keep it under wraps and hiding it. 🙂 Thanks for the great read!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Light Ministry Blog says:

    I understand what you are saying here and agree with it. Sadly, I experience the social anxiety issues and have most of my life. Oddly enough, sometimes I’m not bothered by social interaction, but I never know when that will be. All these years, and I still can’t figure things out! But I am glad for you that you seem to know your situation and embrace it as a part of yourself. Good for you!

    Steve

    Liked by 1 person

  4. ayrgalaxy says:

    I think you’re doing fantastic! If you never would have mentioned it, I wouldn’t have guessed! 🙂
    If I am being honest though, I feel like this some times but in small doses. Lol. It’s probably not considered social awkwardness in my case though.
    Keep doing what you do! The blogging world is still amazing because people welcome you no matter what! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Anna says:

    I can relate so much to your post. It is so hard for me to start conversations with others face-to-face but it’s easier in the blogosphere. I still am getting use to commenting and interacting with other bloggers but it’s so much easier. I am a shy person by nature and I have been trying to overcome it my entire life. However I have learned in the past year how to embrace my awkwardness/craziness because that’s what makes me unique. Great post lovely.
    XOXO Anna 💋

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Amy says:

    I really enjoyed reading this post because I suffer from a bit of social awkwardness too 🙂 Sometimes I have to mentally prepare myself before attending a party or chatting to a group of people. The blogging community is a different ball game for me, I love reading everyone’s blogs and making online friends and being social 🙂 our ever expanding #blogsquad is so friendly.

    Liked by 2 people

    • dajanaerd says:

      I’m glad you enjoyed reading my post! 😘 Same here, every single time I have to prepare myself mentally before attending a party or anything similar. And it can be so annoying sometimes 😩 Our blogging world is amazing!🙌🏻💓

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Throughmylens says:

    I can also totally relate to this post, though blogging has helped a fair bit but I can totally freak out when out of my comfort zone especially in large parties etc. I love how my sisters are total social butterflies and I’m always the awkward shy one! 😬

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Stephanie says:

    Thanks for deciding to share this. I can totally relate. I’ve the same 3 friends from school that I actually spend time with. Sometimes my brain just goes blank when talking and sometimes there are so many things, but I’ve no idea if it’s appropriate, it’s too personal or what. I feel like it’s gotten slightly better with age though maybe just because of experience and seeing how other people act or what they talk about and even learning through the blogging the community!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

