Original Beauty Blender vs. Ebelin Makeup Egg

https://dajanaerd.wordpress.com/2017/06/22/original-beauty-blender-vs-ebelin-makeup-egg

The Beauty Blender has pretty much become the standard tool to apply makeup with in beauty blog land, and I can see why. This perfectly designed egg-shaped sponge gives your foundation the most flawless, airbrushed finish you’ve ever seen. The downside, however, is the price. 20€ for a makeup sponge that you’re inevitably going to have to toss a few months later (be it due to wear & tear or for hygiene) is a little steep for many, including myself. However, there is a dupe for the original BB (beauty blender) in the DM drugstore that costs only 2,45€. I will compare them in this blog post, so if you want to see more, continue reading. 🙂

IMG_0099.JPG

First of all, I should mention that I am comparing the Beauty blender to the newly released “new formula” version of the Ebelin Makeup Egg, which is available in pink and violet. Before the application you wet the sponge and squeeze extra water.

The fact that it’s wet helps to keep the product you are applying on the sponge and not soaking in. The BB allows flawless application of any cream products such as primer, foundation, concealer, cream bronzer, blush or highlighter. Recently I’ve seen makeup artists using it with under eye powder as well, I tried it and it works nice.

IMG_0064.JPG

IMG_0095.JPG

Beauty blender: has unique texture, it is very soft sponge that doubles in size when wet. When used, it beautifully applies the product and softly bounces off your skin.

Makeup sponge by Ebelin: it has rather rubbery texture that is not soft to the touch as the BB. You cannot squeeze it completely to the point that you would feel your fingers through the material as it is in case of BB. When it’s wet it does not get much bigger then it is already, for example BB doubles its size, but the Ebelin egg doesn’t bounce softly so the experience is not as nice as with the BB.

img_0061

img_0063

Overall I am not one to waste money on expensive products. To be completely honest here, I love a good deal and I am constantly on the hunt for one. So, if I am willing to spent 20€ on, what is essentially a sponge, believe me: it means something. I am so happy that after much hesitation, I finally made the investment and bought the original. It is so unbelievably worth it for me.

I have to admit that this is probably the closest dupe to Beauty Blender, if I’m not counting sponge by Real Techniques (it doesn’t try to be a BB dupe, but everybody compares it to it anyway). For the price and relatively good job, I think the sponge by Ebelin is a good alternative to expensive BB sponge. Especially if you’re a beginner and you just don’t want to spend 20€ for something that you’re still practicing on. 🙂

IMG_0100.JPG

That was it for today. I really hope you enjoyed, if you did make sure to leave a comment, they always make me happy. 😉

Have a nice day❤

Love, Dajana.

Don’t forget to follow me on

| BLOGLOVIN | INSTAGRAM | FACEBOOK | TWITTER | YOUTUBE |

POSTS YOU MIGHT ALSO LIKE:

img_0067  okokok  30671723233_d5b43bc709_k

5 thoughts on “Original Beauty Blender vs. Ebelin Makeup Egg

  1. Pingback: THE CHRISTMAS TAG

Leave a Reply

