Using Social Media To Promote Your Blog

tumblr_o6c7f1DZVL1uulmuho1_1280.jpg

Hey my loves,

Today I’m going to write about how I use social media to promote my blog and why is it working so great. I’m honestly not sure what I would do without social media, especially when it comes to promoting my blog. Although I had a Facebook and Twitter account years before starting this blog, using those two channels, along with Intstagram and Google Plus have really helped with getting people to notice me and my little space on the internet. Which is why I thought I’d share with you all some tips on getting the most of out of these platforms and using social media to promote your blog.

Make it easy for people to find you 

This might be pretty obvious but you’ll be surprised at how many people don’t use the same handles across their social media platforms. You want people to be able to find you so it makes sense to use something like your blog name across all the channels. For me, my blog is Dajana Erd, you can type this into Twitter, Instagram, YouTube, Facebook and Google Plus and find me and my blog.

Schedule your Tweets

Most of us schedule our blog posts. We’re all leading busy lives and it’s just easier. So why don’t more of us schedule our Facebook posts or Tweets? I don’t know about everyone else, but my days can be pretty manic and I don’t always have time to tweet my new post five times a day across the different platforms. But by using something like Tweetdeck or Hootsuite, it doesn’t matter – they do the hard work for you. All you need to do is send time planning what Tweets or posts you want to go out and when. If I’m feeling super organised, I’ll spend about an hour on a Sunday scheduling all my Tweets and Facebook posts for the whole week. If I’m not that organised, then I’ll spend a few minutes each night scheduling posts for the following day.

Instagram your content

Instagram is one of the fastest growing social media networks around, and it’s where I get a lot of traffic to my blog. So I make it a priority to use it. When I’m taking my blog pictures on a Saturday or Sunday morning, I make sure that I have my phone handy to take pictures for Instagram. It’s really easy to do and doesn’t take long, as you’ve already set the picture up. Then I can upload the picture the day the post goes live and even link it to my Facebook and Twitter account, and that’s half the job done – I’ve promoted the post and put something pretty on Instagram.

Be social

By this I mean take the time to join in Twitter chats, Follow Fridays, comment and share what great work other people are doing. It doesn’t take a lot of time and it’s a great way to meet other bloggers, read great content and possibly gain new followers as well.

Be professional and nice

This follows on from the one above but so many brands and PR agencies will find bloggers through Twitter, so keep your content fun and professional. After all, if you’re not taking yourself seriously, why should anyone else? Try to avoid continuously posting your links, and instead interact with other bloggers. If someone asks you a question on Twitter, then reply. If someone pays you a compliment, thank them, or favorite their Tweet. Also remember that when it comes to blogging, you’re only in competition with yourself. So support other bloggers don’t slate them. After all we’re all in this together so let’s just be nice to each other.

I hope this was helpful for some of you. You just have to know that blogging takes time as well as gaining audience. Just continue being active, relax and enjoy. 🙂

Love, Dajana.

Don’t forget to follow me on 

| BLOGLOVIN | INSTAGRAM | FACEBOOK | TWITTER | YOUTUBE |

sharing-caring-hearts

12 thoughts on “Using Social Media To Promote Your Blog

  1. Alina Bostan says:

    Great tips, I try to schedule tweets when I can but I am definitely not as active as I should be on Twitter. Instagram is my favourite of the bunch as I love that it’s so visual x

    Beauty with charm

    Like

Leave a Reply

