5 Things People Get Wrong Or Didn’t Know About Germans/ Germany

maxresdefault

As you already probably know, by reading my ‘about me’ page, where it says that I’ve moved to Germany two years ago. This always has been an interesting topic for me, so that’s the reason why I wanted to share this with you all. πŸ™‚

1. The German language is harsh

Well, I have to disagree on this one. Most people’s frame of reference for having heard German are old videos of Hitler. No one talks like that. In fact, I’ve often had people tell me “oh, you make German sound so nice”. No, Hitler just made it sound ugly. German is not terrible, sure, sometimes German makes no sense, but it’s not harsh or terrible.

2. There are no speed limits in Germany

Sure, 60% of German autobahn indeed does not have a speed limit, but the other 40 does (it’s somewhere between 60 to 75 mph).

3. Germans are rude

They are honest, not rude. Germans are straightforward, truthful, and don’t beat around the bush β€” but it’s never done with malicious intent. They simply don’t like small talk of any sort.

4. Water needs to fizz

If you order “water” in a German restaurant, you’ll likely get sparkling water. Germans love their sparkling water and mix it with everything – apple juice, beer, wine, the options are endless. Every beverage mixed with fizzy water becomes a “Schorle” (“spritzer”). A German would never give tap water to a guest; that’d simply be considered rude. Water has to bubble or at least needs to be bottled.

5. Germans eat nothing but wurst and sauerkraut

Actually, they eat a lot of bread and potatoes too. German food is indeed very heavy, and traditional cuisine is so laced with lard and pork. But it’s not like Germans eat only German food, they actually really like Turkish, Italian and Balkan food.

 

I hope you enjoyed reading this! If you did make sure to share it with your friends. πŸ™‚

Love, 

blog-signature

Don’t forget to follow me on

| BLOGLOVIN | INSTAGRAM | FACEBOOK | TWITTER |

sharing-caring-hearts.png

17 thoughts on “5 Things People Get Wrong Or Didn’t Know About Germans/ Germany

  1. hbhatnagar says:

    I would agree on the first part, German is a nice, if strong sounding language. Harshness is a matter of personal voice and a lot of other factors. Germans rarely smile, though I will look out for the rare one when I’m there next, πŸ™‚
    I never understood sparkling water, so thanks for explaining that bit to me. And who in the world hates German sauerkraut???? My host the last time was amazed that I tasted no veggies and contented myself with veal and liver and what not…:D
    I hope to see more of Germany if I end up in that corner of the world again. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • dajanaerd says:

      German is nice, true!
      Indeed, harshness is a metter of person voice!
      I still stuggle with sprakling water, even after almost tree years living here, I personaly don’t like it.
      German sauerkraut is amazing! I love it πŸ™‚
      Germany is awesome, you should definitely come soon again πŸ˜‰
      Have a nice day πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • hbhatnagar says:

        I was surprised to see sparkling water on tap in Swiss offices. In India, it’s called soda and is almost exclusively used with whiskey (and the occasional lemonade).
        I hope to be in Switzerland again next month, and time allowing a trip to the Black Forest area…..I wish I could bring those sauerkrauts back home! πŸ˜€

        Like

  2. Erin says:

    I don’t know how anyone in the 21st century could thing German is a harsh language! Hitler or no, surely most people have been exposed to some sort of German? So strange! From what I’ve experienced, a lot of Europe favours the sparkling water! To be honest, I wish Canada would adopt that crazy πŸ˜‰

    Erin
    http://sexycardi.blogspot.ca

    Liked by 1 person

    • dajanaerd says:

      Indeed! And harshness is a matter of personal voice!
      I personally don’t like sparkling water, and in Serbia, where I come from it’s not that popular either! πŸ™‚
      Have a nice day !

      Like

  3. Mammu says:

    As an Estonian I already knew all that about Germany, but I can see how Americans could have these beliefs. Except for the rude part, I don’t know where that came from 😦 In Estonia we love our frizz water too! I now live in Bulgaria and it is so hard to find frizz water and they never have it in restaurants, breaks my heart hahhaa

    Liked by 1 person

      • Mammu says:

        How cool you’re from Serbia:) Lidl doesn’t have sparkly water (it’s where I mostly buy food) and others have only one type in small bottles only. It’s interesting how little things start to matter when you go to another country, things you didn’t even notice before. But it’s those small everyday things that make it interesting to discover about a country and it’s people πŸ™‚

        Like

  4. Rezzo says:

    Haha, thanks for this! My dad’s side is German, but I didn’t grow up with the customs or people or anything. So would you have to specify for bottled water in a restaurant?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

